Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Alta Vista Elementary School District

2293 E. Crabtree, Porterville, CA 93257 · Tulare County
1 Type A citation in last 12 monthsChild care center (preschool)

Alta Vista Elementary School District is a licensed child care center in Porterville, CA, licensed for up to 20 children and serving preschool-age children. It has held its California license since 2012. Since February 2021, state licensing staff have inspected it 4 times. The state issued 4 citations, 1 of them Type A (the most serious), most often for staff ratios (2 of 4). 1 citation came in the last 12 months, including 1 Type A. Measured by weighted citations per inspection, it is #19 of 21 centers in Porterville and has more citations per inspection than 73% of California licensed centers.

Inspection record

More citations than 73%of 10,948 California licensed centers, per inspection, weighted by severity. More citations than most
#19 of 21 centers in Porterville
1Type A citations
3Type B citations
4Inspections
0 of 0Complaints substantiated
4 citations from 5 state visits since Feb 8, 2021 · 1 in the last 12 months · last inspected Jan 12, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Aug 27, 2026 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 12, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJan 9, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJan 25, 2024 · Inspection · no citationNov 30, 2022 · Inspection · no citation
Citation issuedNo citationTop row: inspections · bottom row: complaint investigations and other visits

What inspectors cited most

Staff ratios2
Records & paperwork2

Citations, newest first

Type AJan 12, 2026InspectionStaff ratios
Capacity limits §101161(a)
Based on observation and record review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above. Since August 2025, the Director allowed children in care to use a room that was previously deemed inoperable due to a flood. The room change was not reported to CCL and classroom was not inspected by the Department prior to children's use which poses an immediate health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.
Plan of correction due Jan 16, 2026
Type BJan 9, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Sign-in and sign-out §101229.1(b)
Based on observation and record review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above. During today's inspection, LPA observed Child #1 (C1) was removed from the center by Adult #1 (A1) before naptime. Records review of the sign in/ sign out sheet showed that C1 was not signed out by A1 which poses a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.
Plan of correction due Feb 10, 2025
Type BJan 9, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Reporting requirements §101212(c)
Based on observation, interview, and record review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above. The Director did not report a flood that took place in the licensed preschool class room in December 2024. The flood resulted in a room change that was also not reported to the Department which poses a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.
Plan of correction due Feb 10, 2025
Type BJan 9, 2025InspectionStaff ratios
Capacity limits §101161(a)
Based on observation, interview, record review, the licensee did not comply with the section cited above. The Child Care Center has been providing care and supervision to children in an unlicensed area which poses a potential health, safety or personal rights risk to persons in care.
Plan of correction due Feb 10, 2025

About this center

Licensed capacity20 children
License typeChild care center (preschool)
License statusLicensed
Licensed sinceJan 13, 2012
LicenseeAlta Vista Elementary School District
AdministratorRobert Hudson
Phone(559) 782-5700
State facility #543808714

Common questions

Does Alta Vista Elementary School District take infants?

Not under this license, which covers preschool-age children.

Has Alta Vista Elementary School District had any serious violations?

California issued 1 Type A citation since 2021, its most serious category. The most recent was on Jan 12, 2026, for capacity limits. Each citation is listed in full above.

How does Alta Vista Elementary School District compare with other daycares in Porterville?

It is #19 of 21 centers in Porterville by weighted citations per inspection, and has more citations per inspection than 73% of California licensed centers with enough inspection history to compare.

When was Alta Vista Elementary School District last inspected?

Jan 12, 2026. The state issued at least one citation during that visit.

How much does Alta Vista Elementary School District cost?

California does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Alta Vista Elementary School District for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-time price at licensed centers in Tulare County, which includes Porterville, was $750 a month for preschoolers (about $950 today) in the state’s 2021 Regional Market Rate Survey.

Who runs Alta Vista Elementary School District?

The licensee is Alta Vista Elementary School District, and the administrator listed with the state is Robert Hudson.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from California Department of Social Services inspection and complaint reports. Type A citations are the state’s most serious category (an immediate risk to children’s health, safety or personal rights); Type B citations are a potential risk. A citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall. Complaint allegations appear here only when the state substantiated them.

To read the full state reports, search facility number 543808714 on the California Care Facility Search. Data refreshed Oct 2, 2026.