Daycare Record Child care inspection records

The Learning Experience · Ephrata

181 Larkspur Ln, Ephrata, PA 17522 · Lancaster County
Provisional certificate

The Learning Experience is a certified child care center in Ephrata, PA, with capacity for 122 children. Since August 2021, Pennsylvania certification staff have inspected it 3 times. The state cited 22 violations, none of them core-safety, most often for records & paperwork (9 of 22). All 22 came in the last 12 months. Measured by topic-weighted citations per inspection, it is #7 of 9 centers in Ephrata and has more citations per inspection than 72% of Pennsylvania certified centers.

Inspection record

More citations than 72% of 4,789 Pennsylvania certified centers, per inspection, weighted by topic. More citations than most
#7 of 9 centers in Ephrata
0 Core-safety citations
22 Other citations
3 Inspections
0 Complaint investigations that found violations
22 citations from 3 state visits since Aug 16, 2021 · 22 in the last 12 months · last inspected Sep 11, 2026

Every state visit

2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom) Sep 11, 2026 · Inspection · citation found Aug 5, 2026 · Inspection · citation found May 27, 2026 · Inspection · citation found
Violation found No violation Top row: inspections · bottom row: complaint investigations, self-reported incidents and other visits

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork 9
Building & playground safety 5
Health & medication 5
Food & feeding 1
Emergency preparedness 1
Transportation 1

Citations, newest first

Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Building & playground safety
Emergency Numbers Posted 55 Pa. Code §3270.74
The emergency numbers posted near telephones throughout the facility did not include a phone number for the nearest ambulance.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 29, 2026): “Ambulance phone number has been placed on emergency contact sheet and placed at every phone in center.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Building & playground safety
No peeling paint or plaster 55 Pa. Code §3270.77(a)
Areas of peeling paint were observed on the wall in preschool 2.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 30, 2026): “Paint is being fixed at all areas in the center that is peeling.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Health & medication
Refrigeration required 55 Pa. Code §3270.133(7)(iii)
The medication log on file for child #5's medication did not include a requirement for refrigeration of medication.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “A medication log was placed with medication. Stating it does not need to be refrigerated.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Health & medication
Child's hands washed 55 Pa. Code §3270.134(a)
A staff person was observed changing an infant's diaper and then not washing the child's hands. (CORRECTED ON SITE)
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “Made sure both staff and infants are washing hands before meals, snacks, and at all diapering times.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Health & medication
Disposable diapers 55 Pa. Code §3270.135(a)(3)
The trash can in the infant room was not operating as a hands free trash can. The staff person needed to close the lid with their hands after disposing of a diaper.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 30, 2026): “Diaper pan was replaced.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Food & feeding
Bottles labeled 55 Pa. Code §3270.166(4)
2 bottles in the infant room fridge were not labeled with the child's name. (CORRECTED ON SITE)
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “Making sure bottles are labeled with child's name before placed in refrigerator and before parent leaves at arrival.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Emergency preparedness
Hypothetical locations 55 Pa. Code §3270.94(a)(4)
The hypothetical location of the fire for all of the logged fire drills was listed as the building's grassy area.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Oct 9, 2026): “Planned fire drill for a different hypothetical location.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Transportation
Pick-up and drop-off points 55 Pa. Code §3270.171(a)
The operator was unable to confirm at the time of inspection if the local traffic safety authorities had been notified in writing of the location of the facility and the program's use of pedestrian and vehicular routes around the child care facility.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 29, 2026): “The letter was sent to the local police department.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Signed 55 Pa. Code §3270.123(a)
The agreement on file for child #4 was not signed by the parent. The agreement on file for child #5 was not signed by the operator or the parent.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “#4 was signed by the parent. #5 was signed by operator and parent.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Services proceeded 55 Pa. Code §3270.123(a)(3)
The agreements on file for children #2, #3, and #5 did not specify the services to be provided to the family and the child
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “Had all agreement signed with listed services for each child.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Designated release persons 55 Pa. Code §3270.123(a)(5)
The agreements on file for children #2 and #5 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 29, 2026): “Placing designated release names on each agreement before having parent's signature. Making sure parents write it or pre-approve.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Parent receives original 55 Pa. Code §3270.123(b)
Originals of agreements were on file for children #1, #2, #3, #4, and #5.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 30, 2026): “Parents received original agreements”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Each child care space 55 Pa. Code §3270.124(c)
Emergency contact information was not present in the preppers room where child #6 was receiving care.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Oct 9, 2026): “Child #5 file - emergency contact info was placed in binder for emergencies in backpack.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Written emergency plan posted 55 Pa. Code §3270.124(e)
A written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency was not displayed conspicuously in the infant room, toddler A, twaddlers, preppers, make believe blvd, preschool 2, preschool 1, and toddler b.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Oct 6, 2026): “A written plan that is in place has been copied for emergency contact binders in each room and placed on walls at phone.”
Citation Sep 11, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission/Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission 55 Pa. Code §3270.182(3)/3270.182(5)
The records for children #3 and #4 did not contain signed parental consent for emergency medical care for the child. Their records also did not contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 24, 2026): “Parents signed all areas needed for emergency medical care and first aid procedures.”
Citation Aug 5, 2026 Inspection Health & medication
Medication log 55 Pa. Code §3270.133(7)
An epi-pen was on site for child #1. The facility was unable to provide documentation that a medication log was on file for the medication.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Aug 25, 2026): “A medication log will be placed with all medications on site.”
Citation Aug 5, 2026 Inspection Health & medication
Mantoux TB 55 Pa. Code §3270.151(c)(2)
The initial health assessment on file for facility/staff person #2 did not include a TB test. A TB test was on file from 2012 for a purpose other than child care.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Sep 1, 2026): “Staff will update her TB test.”
Citation Aug 5, 2026 Inspection Building & playground safety
Devices must be compliant/Director or designated staff person ensure compliance 55 Pa. Code §3270.95(a)/3270.95(b)
There was not a written record of manual tests of the fire detection system on file at the facility.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Aug 25, 2026): “Fire manual tests will be done and recorded every 30 days or before.”
Citation Aug 5, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Transcript, diploma and letters 55 Pa. Code §3270.192(2)(iv)
The documentation of childcare experience on file for staff person #3 was not written by the person verifying the experience. A letter was written by staff person #4 and then signed by the representative from the previous employer.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Aug 25, 2026): “Staff member will receive letter from past employer verifying experience.”
Citation Aug 5, 2026 Inspection Records & paperwork
Two written references 55 Pa. Code §3270.192(5)
The record for facility person #1 did not include two written, nonfamily references from individuals attesting to the person's suitability to serve as a facility person.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, Aug 25, 2026): “Two written reference letters must be obtained in staff file with signature non-family member.”
Citation May 27, 2026 Inspection Building & playground safety
Building Surfaces 55 Pa. Code §3270.76
Small pieces of metal and wooden construction debris were observed on the preschool playground.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, May 28, 2026): “The areas will be cleaned up.”
Citation May 27, 2026 Inspection Building & playground safety
Small Toys and Objects 55 Pa. Code §3270.103
A screw and small rocks with a diameter of less than 1 inch were observed along the edge of the toddler playground.
Center’s plan of correction (implemented, May 27, 2026): “The area will be cleaned up and the rocks will be made inaccessible.”

“Core safety” marks citations about supervision and staff ratios, discipline and caregiver conduct, background checks, child protection and safe sleep, the topics our score weights most. Pennsylvania’s records don’t grade violations by severity. “Follow-up” marks a violation re-cited at a follow-up visit, counted once. How scores work.

Daily rates

Age group Full time, per day Part time, per day
Newborn (Under 6 Weeks) $82.68 —
Infant (6 Weeks-12 mos.) $82.68 —
Young Toddler (13-24 mos.) $78.98 —
Older Toddler (25-36 mos.) $78.06 —
Preschool (37 mos.- Entering K) $73.90 —

The daily price the center lists in Pennsylvania’s COMPASS search for families paying privately. The state notes that rates are subject to change and programs don’t have to share them, so confirm with the center. See what daycare costs in Pennsylvania.

About this center

Capacity 122 children
Certificate status Provisional (COMPASS: awaiting renewal)
Certificate valid through Nov 27, 2026
Keystone STARS No STAR level
Operator 2727 Learning Group INC
Hours Monday–Friday 6:30 AM–6:00 PM How Pennsylvania centers’ hours compare
Phone (717) 997-6660
State certificate # CER-00256511
Parent reviews Google Maps reviews
Not checked by Daycare Record

Common questions

Has The Learning Experience had any serious violations?

No citations on supervision, staff ratios, discipline, background checks, child protection or safe sleep since 2021. It has 22 other citations, listed above.

Have there been complaints about The Learning Experience?

Pennsylvania lists no complaint investigation that found a violation at The Learning Experience since 2021. Its search shows these “verified complaints” but not what a complaint alleged, or whether every violation relates to it.

How does The Learning Experience compare with other daycares in Ephrata?

It is #7 of 9 centers in Ephrata by topic-weighted citations per inspection, and has more citations per inspection than 72% of Pennsylvania certified centers with enough inspection history to compare.

When was The Learning Experience last inspected?

Sep 11, 2026 (renewal). The state cited at least one violation during that visit.

How much does The Learning Experience cost?

It reported full-time daily rates of $82.68 for newborn, $82.68 for infant, $78.98 for young toddler, $78.06 for older toddler in Pennsylvania’s COMPASS search. Rates can change; confirm with the center.

Who runs The Learning Experience?

The legal entity on its Pennsylvania certificate is 2727 Learning Group INC.

Certified centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services inspection records (Office of Child Development and Early Learning, Bureau of Certification Services), including each finding and the center’s plan of correction. Rule numbers refer mostly to 55 Pa. Code Chapter 3270, the rules for child care centers; a few cite Chapter 20, which covers every certified facility. Pennsylvania’s records don’t grade violations by severity; the “core safety” label and the score are Daycare Record’s.

To check the state’s own record, search the center’s name on COMPASS Child Care Provider Search and open its inspection history. Data refreshed Oct 16, 2026.

Comparing centers? See how to choose a daycare: 30 questions to ask and a printable checklist.

Concerned about this center? See how to report a daycare: which state line to call, what to write down and what happens next.