Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

A-1 Montessori Academy

12805 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77077 · Harris County
Conditions on permit2 high-risk citations in last 12 monthsAccepts child care subsidies

A-1 Montessori Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 97 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2018. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 8 times. Inspectors recorded 23 citations, 3 of them high-risk, most often for records & paperwork (9 of 23). 8 citations came in the last 12 months, including 2 high-risk. 9% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 3% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 3%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
Tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston
3High risk
7Medium High risk
11Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
23 citations from 8 inspections and 0 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 8 in the last 12 months · last inspected Oct 21, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jan 23, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundOct 21, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundNov 7, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundFeb 1, 2024 · Inspection · no citationJan 30, 2024 · Inspection · no citationNov 14, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundDec 5, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundJun 7, 2022 · Inspection · no citationFeb 25, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundJan 6, 2022 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork9
Building & playground safety6
Training & qualifications6
Health & medication2

Citations, newest first

Medium LowJan 23, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Correction verified Feb 18, 2026
MediumOct 21, 2025InspectionHealth & medication
Health Statement on File within 1 Week of Admission §746.611(b)
Three out of four children files reviewed did not have a health statement available for licensing to review.
Correction verified Oct 29, 2025
HighOct 21, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
No Asphalt or Concrete Under Climbing Equipment Unless Unitary Surfacing Covers Use Zone §746.4601(8)
Observed a playground structure with slides with a loose fill surfacing installed over concrete.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
MediumOct 21, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Children's Products- Annual Certification §746.4135(b)
The last annual certification was done 1/3/2023.
Correction verified Nov 6, 2025
MediumOct 21, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records- Meets Requirements §746.901(2)
Two out of three caregivers did not have the education requirements available for licensing to review.
Correction verified Oct 29, 2025
Medium HighOct 21, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
Three out of four children files reviewed did not have an emergency contact address available for licensing to review.
Correction verified Oct 22, 2025
HighOct 21, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months §746.5101(a)
Last fire inspection was conducted on 1/31/24. There was not a current fire inspection report for licensing to review.
Correction verified Nov 14, 2025
MediumOct 21, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Physician Information §746.605(10)
One out of four children files reviewed did not have a physician or emergency facility listed for licensing to review.
Correction verified Oct 29, 2025
Medium HighNov 7, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months §746.1311(d)
Director did not have the required SIDS training certificates available for review.
Correction verified Nov 25, 2024
MediumNov 7, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - Remaining training hour topics §746.1309(f)
Three caregivers did not have the required HASA training certificates available for review. 1. Emergency preparedness 2. Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases. 3. Administering medication 4. Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction. 5. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.
Correction verified Nov 25, 2024
Medium HighNov 7, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required §746.1309(d)
Three caregivers did not have the required SIDS training certificates available for review.
Correction verified Nov 25, 2024
MediumNov 7, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics §746.1311(e)
Director did not have the required HASA trainings certificates available to review. 1. Emergency preparedness 2. Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases. 3. Administering medication 4. Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction. 5. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.
Correction verified Nov 25, 2024
Medium HighNov 14, 2023InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
While reviewing 4 children's files; I observed no address for emergency contact for the 4 children.
Correction verified Nov 30, 2023
Medium HighNov 14, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Areas Free From Hazards §746.3701
The children were outside the room and exposed to safety hazards while the building was under conctruction.
Correction verified Nov 15, 2023
Medium HighNov 14, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
The ceiling tiles were missing upon arrival. This was corrected at inspection when the director placed the tiles back into place.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighNov 14, 2023InspectionHealth & medication
Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current §746.613(b)
While reviewing 4 children's records; one child was not up to date on shot records.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2023
HighNov 14, 2023InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Release Information §746.605(7)
While reviewing 4 children's files; I observed there to be no person listed for the child to be released to for pickup.
Correction verified Nov 30, 2023
MediumDec 5, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Children's Products- Annual Certification §746.4135(b)
The operation has not complete their annual children product certification since 01/15/2021.
Correction verified Dec 6, 2022
MediumDec 5, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
First Aid Kit - Supplies Not Expired §746.4003(b)
The first aid kit had items that were expired.
Correction verified Dec 12, 2022
MediumDec 5, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
First Aid Kit - Incomplete Kit §746.4003(a)
The first aid kit is incomplete. It is missing a guide to first aid handbook, antiseptic solution, wipes and other essential items.
Correction verified Dec 12, 2022
Medium LowFeb 25, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23,2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 3, 2022
MediumJan 6, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Daily Menus - Record Comparable Substitutions §746.3313(1)
The daily menu was not updated with substitutions made to the lunch served today. Note: The Director updated the daily menu with substitutions made to today's lunch.
Corrected during the visit
MediumJan 6, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Children's Records - Admission Information §746.603(a)(2)
A child's record evaluated does not have a complete admission form.
Correction verified Jan 7, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity97 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:30 AM-06:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun
Licensed sinceFeb 2, 2018
DirectorUsha Christie
Phone8323506409
State operation #1655408

Common questions

Does A-1 Montessori Academy take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are A-1 Montessori Academy’s hours?

6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Sunday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does A-1 Montessori Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does A-1 Montessori Academy cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask A-1 Montessori Academy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has A-1 Montessori Academy had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 3 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Oct 21, 2025: “No Asphalt or Concrete Under Climbing Equipment Unless Unitary Surfacing Covers Use Zone.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does A-1 Montessori Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 3% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was A-1 Montessori Academy last inspected?

Oct 21, 2025. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1655408 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.