Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Alpha Academy

1647 Candytuft Ct, Houston, TX 77038 · Harris County
1 high-risk citation in last 12 monthsAccepts child care subsidies

Alpha Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 51 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2002. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 5 times. Inspectors recorded 16 citations, 1 of them high-risk, most often for records & paperwork (6 of 16). 16 citations came in the last 12 months, including 1 high-risk. 12% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 3% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 3%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
Tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston
1High risk
6Medium High risk
5Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
1Low risk
16 citations from 5 inspections and 0 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 16 in the last 12 months · last inspected Oct 2, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Oct 2, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundOct 4, 2024 · Inspection · no citationOct 6, 2023 · Inspection · no citationOct 7, 2022 · Inspection · no citationOct 21, 2021 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork6
Training & qualifications5
Other standards3
Staff ratios1
Building & playground safety1

Citations, newest first

MediumOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Children's Records - Admission Information §746.603(a)(2)
Of the six children's records evaluated, the following information was missing: 1. One lacked the address for the emergency contact 2. One lacked authorization for emergency medical care. 3. One lacked the phone number of the child's doctor
Correction verified Oct 15, 2025
MediumOct 2, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training- Required Content §746.1309(e)
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months §746.1311(d)
The director did not one clock hour of training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early CHildhood Brain Development for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Correction verified Oct 3, 2025
LowOct 2, 2025InspectionStaff ratios
Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program §746.611(a)(1)
Of the six children's records evaluated, five lacked the name and address of the doctor who examined the child within the past year.
Correction verified Oct 15, 2025
MediumOct 2, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment §746.1309(c)
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Essential Documentation §746.5202(3)
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how the center will evacuate the building with parent contact information, emergency contact information and emergency medical authorization information for each child.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionOther standards
Emergency Preparedness Plan-Reunification Plan §746.5202(5)
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be reunited with their parents once the emergency is over,
Correction verified Nov 8, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures §746.5202(1)
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be evacuated from the center and how children under the age of 2 will be evacuated.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionOther standards
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures §746.5202(2)
The emergency preparedness plan does not include the emergency phone number for the center, does not state how the center will communicate with emergency authorities and CHild Care Regulation.
Correction verified Nov 8, 2025
MediumOct 2, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics §746.1311(e)
The director did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Correction verified Oct 3, 2025
Medium LowOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912) §746.901(5)
Of the six personnel records evaluated, two lacked the pre-employment affidavit.
Correction verified Nov 3, 2025
HighOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Policies Comply with Rules §746.201(1)
The parent handbook lacked the following information: 1. Requirements for indoor/outdoor physical activity, benefits of indoor//outdoor physical activity, duration of indoor/outdoor physical activity, type of indoor/outdoor physical activity, the setting, recommended clothing and footwear, criteria used when the weather prevents outdoor play and plan for physical activity when outdoor play is limited. 2. Instructions on how parents may access Minimum Standards, the HHSC website and contact information for the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Staff vaccination policy
Correction verified Nov 8, 2025
Medium HighOct 2, 2025InspectionOther standards
Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released §746.5202(4)
The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be cared for during the emergency.
Correction verified Nov 8, 2025
MediumOct 2, 2025InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment §746.1311(c)
The director did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
Correction verified Oct 3, 2025
Medium LowOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required posting of name, address, and telephone number - Local CCR office §746.405(b)(1)
The emergency telephone number posting included the incorrect telephone number for the local Child Care Regulation Office. This was corrected at inspection.
Corrected during the visit
Medium LowOct 2, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name §746.401(9)
The list of current employees did not include all staff that are working at the center, This was corrected at inspection.
Corrected during the visit

About this center

Licensed capacity51 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:00 AM-06:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceDec 11, 2002
DirectorDora Garza
Phone2818203399
State operation #818659

Common questions

Does Alpha Academy take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Alpha Academy’s hours?

6 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Alpha Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

Has Alpha Academy had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 1 high-risk citation since 2021. The most recent was on Oct 2, 2025: “Policies Comply with Rules.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Alpha Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 3% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Alpha Academy last inspected?

Oct 2, 2025. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 818659 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.