Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Hemphill Scholars

730 Sabine St, Hemphill, TX 75948 · Sabine County
Accepts child care subsidies

Hemphill Scholars is a licensed child care center in Hemphill, TX, licensed for up to 85 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2020. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 9 times and investigated 2 reports. Inspectors recorded 4 citations, 1 of them high-risk, most often for records & paperwork (3 of 4). 1 citation came in the last 12 months. Its last 9 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is #2 of 3 centers in Sabine County and better than 79% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 79%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Fewer citations than most
#2 of 3 centers in Sabine County
1High risk
0Medium High risk
0Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
0Low risk
4 citations from 9 inspections and 1 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 1 in the last 12 months · last inspected Dec 22, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Jan 23, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundDec 22, 2025 · Inspection · no citationDec 11, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJan 24, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundJan 8, 2025 · Inspection · no citationFeb 7, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMar 15, 2023 · Inspection · no citationFeb 7, 2023 · Inspection · no citationFeb 2, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationAug 31, 2022 · Inspection · no citationAug 29, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundMay 4, 2022 · Inspection · no citationMar 2, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundNov 30, 2021 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Records & paperwork3
Supervision1

Citations, newest first

Medium LowJan 23, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.
Correction verified Feb 3, 2026
Medium LowJan 24, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2025
HighAug 29, 2022Found during an investigationSupervision
Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised §746.2401(7)
An infant was left unsupervised for approximately 10 minutes.
Correction verified Sep 9, 2022
Medium LowMar 2, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22nd, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 4, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity85 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-05:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceJun 11, 2020
DirectorHeather Jurek
Phone9362011288
State operation #1693839

Common questions

Does Hemphill Scholars take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Hemphill Scholars’s hours?

7 AM to 5:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Hemphill Scholars accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

Has Hemphill Scholars had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 1 high-risk citation since 2021. The most recent was on Aug 29, 2022: “Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Hemphill Scholars compare with other daycares in Sabine County?

It is #2 of 3 centers in Sabine County by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 79% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Hemphill Scholars last inspected?

Dec 22, 2025. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1693839 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.