Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Rucker Head Start

5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017 · Harris County

Rucker Head Start is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 97 children and serving preschoolers and school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2020. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 10 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 9 citations, 3 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (2 of 9). None of them came in the last 12 months. 11% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 2 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 37% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 37%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
Tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston
3High risk
3Medium High risk
2Medium risk
1Medium Low risk
0Low risk
9 citations from 10 inspections and 3 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 0 in the last 12 months · last inspected Nov 10, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Nov 10, 2025 · Inspection · no citationNov 7, 2025 · Inspection · no citationNov 12, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundAug 29, 2024 · Inspection · no citationAug 16, 2024 · Report/investigation · citation foundFeb 13, 2024 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundDec 20, 2022 · Inspection · no citationDec 9, 2022 · Report/investigation · no citationDec 9, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundAug 2, 2022 · Inspection · no citationFeb 25, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundDec 13, 2021 · Inspection · citation foundDec 9, 2021 · Report/investigation · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Training & qualifications2
Health & medication2
Records & paperwork2
Staff ratios1
Building & playground safety1
Background checks1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighNov 12, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR §746.1301(a)(4)(A)
It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.
Correction verified Dec 18, 2024
HighNov 12, 2024InspectionStaff ratios
AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter §745.635(2)
A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.
Correction verified Nov 13, 2024
MediumAug 16, 2024Found during an investigationHealth & medication
Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent §746.707
Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.
Correction verified Oct 25, 2024
MediumAug 16, 2024Found during an investigationHealth & medication
Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk §746.701(5)
An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.
Correction verified Oct 25, 2024
HighAug 16, 2024Found during an investigationRecords & paperwork
Report Situation Placing Children at Risk §746.305(a)(6)
An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.
Correction verified Oct 25, 2024
Medium HighDec 5, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Report Change in Director §746.303(a)(4)
The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.
Correction verified Dec 6, 2023
Medium HighDec 9, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered §746.3701(1)
In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.
Corrected during the visit
Medium LowFeb 25, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022
HighDec 13, 2021InspectionBackground checks
AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check §745.621(b)(1)(A)
One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021
Correction verified Jan 3, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity97 children
Ages servedPre-Kindergarten, School
Hours08:00 AM-04:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceDec 14, 2020
DirectorZayda Alberto
Phone7138457467
State operation #1698103

Common questions

Does Rucker Head Start take infants?

No. Its Texas license covers preschoolers and school-age children, not infants.

What are Rucker Head Start’s hours?

8 AM to 4 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Rucker Head Start accept child care subsidies?

Not according to its state licensing record. Ask the center directly, since participation can change.

Has Rucker Head Start had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 3 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Nov 12, 2024: “AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Rucker Head Start compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 37% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Rucker Head Start last inspected?

Nov 10, 2025. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1698103 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.