Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

The Kipling School, Inc.

620 Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77007 · Harris County
Conditions on permit

The Kipling School, Inc. is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 208 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2013. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 10 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 16 citations, 2 of them high-risk. None of them came in the last 12 months. 12% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 6 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #525 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 17% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 17%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
Tied for #525 of 882 centers in Houston
2High risk
7Medium High risk
5Medium risk
2Medium Low risk
0Low risk
16 citations from 10 inspections and 3 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 0 in the last 12 months · last inspected Sep 10, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Sep 10, 2026 · Inspection · no citationSep 17, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJun 30, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJun 16, 2025 · Report/investigation · no citationMar 7, 2025 · Report/investigation · no citationSep 17, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMay 24, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMay 15, 2024 · Report/investigation · citation foundJan 18, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundOct 5, 2023 · Inspection · no citationSep 19, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundOct 20, 2022 · Inspection · no citationOct 4, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundFeb 25, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundOct 11, 2021 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Other standards5
Records & paperwork2
Sleep safety2
Training & qualifications2
Building & playground safety1
Food & feeding1
Staff ratios1
Supervision1
Health & medication1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighMay 15, 2024Found during an investigationOther standards
Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions §746.4217(2)
Based upon the information obtained during the investigation, sufficient evidence was available to support the restrictions issued by the Fire Marshal had not been followed by allowing children under 2-years old to be cared for above ground level in the months of March and April 2024. CORRECTED - There were no children under 2-years-old being cared for in May 2024. Procedures have been put in place to ensure children who have not turned 2-years old will not be allowed upstairs.
Corrected during the visit
Medium LowJan 18, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Correction verified Jan 18, 2024
Medium HighSep 19, 2023InspectionOther standards
Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions §746.4217(2)
Two children under 24 months old were being cared for above ground level.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2023
Medium HighSep 19, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Children's Products- Review list and Remove unsafe products §746.4135(a)
A boppy pillow recalled 9/23/21 was observed to be in the infant room and in use by an infant in care.
Corrected during the visit
HighSep 19, 2023InspectionSleep safety
AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age §746.2415(b)
A two month infant was observed sleeping with a white noise machine/speaker inside of their crib.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2023
MediumSep 19, 2023InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
Written feeding instructions for a child not yet on table food was last updated 08/06/2023
Correction verified Oct 5, 2023
Medium HighSep 19, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based §746.1315(b)(1)
Out of the five staff files evaluated during the inspection, one was obtained CPR training through the NationalCPRFountation which is an online class.
Correction verified Oct 6, 2023
MediumSep 19, 2023InspectionStaff ratios
Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met §746.1613(a)
Child/caregiver ratio was reduced for a group of children that included infants 12-17 months old.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2023
Medium HighSep 19, 2023InspectionSleep safety
Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets §746.2409(a)(2)
Sheets in four infant cribs were observed loose.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2023
MediumOct 4, 2022InspectionOther standards
Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age §746.4503(a)
In all classrooms some of the mats had tires and holes which the mat is no longer waterproof.
Correction verified Oct 20, 2022
HighOct 4, 2022InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For §746.1203(2)
The caregiver stated she had 10 children, then stated she had 8, when I counted their were 9 children in the classroom.
Correction verified Oct 20, 2022
Medium HighOct 4, 2022InspectionOther standards
Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection §746.5401
The operation has not had a gas inspection since 9/2/2020.
Correction verified Oct 5, 2022
MediumOct 4, 2022InspectionOther standards
Storage for Individual Belongings §746.4505
In some classrooms children did not have storage space to be their belongings and in some classrooms the areas were not labeled the with the child s name.
Correction verified Oct 20, 2022
MediumOct 4, 2022InspectionTraining & qualifications
Furnishings and Equipment for Toddlers - Bottles & Training Cups Labeled for Each Toddler §746.2505(4)(A)
Some of the toddler cups were not labeled with their names and last initial of last name.
Correction verified Oct 20, 2022
Medium HighOct 4, 2022InspectionHealth & medication
Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface §746.3503(a)
In the infant classrooms the changing table mats had holes in them.
Correction verified Oct 20, 2022
Medium LowFeb 25, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity208 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours07:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceJun 19, 2013
DirectorJade Munger
Phone7138616743
State operation #1499069

Common questions

Does The Kipling School, Inc. take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are The Kipling School, Inc.’s hours?

7 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does The Kipling School, Inc. accept child care subsidies?

Not according to its state licensing record. Ask the center directly, since participation can change.

Has The Kipling School, Inc. had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 2 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Sep 19, 2023: “AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does The Kipling School, Inc. compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #525 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 17% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was The Kipling School, Inc. last inspected?

Sep 10, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 1499069 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.