Vanguard Academy Katy
Vanguard Academy Katy is a licensed child care center in Katy, TX, licensed for up to 116 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2021. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 19 times and investigated 4 reports. Inspectors recorded 49 citations, 19 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (10 of 49). None of them came in the last 12 months. 10% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 2 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #161 of 167 centers in Katy and better than 2% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
The emergency preparedness plan did not include the following procedures: Communication How staff will evacuate and relocate with essential documentation. How staff will continue to care for children until each child has been released. How the operation will reunify the children with their parents as the evacuation, relocation, or sheltering/lock-down is lifted.
During the inspection, A caregiver was observed in the classroom with direct access to children.The operation has not recieved an eligibility notification from CBCU stating they can be present. The caregiver did leave the operation during the inspection.
A caregiver did not know the number of children present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there was only 8 children in the classroom and there was 9 children present.
A caregiver did not know the number of children present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there was only 14 children and there was 16 children present.
A child was observed leaving the classroom without being accompanied by a caregiver.
The operation has not reported a qualifed center director within the required timeframe.
A caregiver did not know the number of children present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there was 10 children and there was only 8 children present.
2 out of 8 staff files evalauted did not contain proof of education that has been translated into english.
There is no loose fill surfacing material installed to the outside play area.
A caregiver with a pending background check was present in the Toddler 2 classroom and had access to children in care.
The transportation vehicle used to transport the children to and from school does not have a child safety alarm installed.
A caregivers record reviewed is missing 12 annual training hours. Another caregivers record reviewed is missing 11 annual training hours.
The Director does not have current cpr training. The training expired on 8/2022.
The operation has not certified annually the recall item list. Date of last certification was on 11/21/2021. Note: Correction was made during the inspection.
The transportation vehicle used to transport children to and from school does to not have a first aid kit.
The Director does not have current first aid training. The training expired on 8/2022.
The Director has not completed 30 annual training hours.
The transportation vehicle that is used to transport the children to and from school does not have a fire extinguisher.
A caregiver responsible for a group of 7 children between the ages of 3y and 4y did not have 1 child signed in on the attendance sheet. A caregiver responsible for a group of 9 children between the ages of 2y and 3y did not have 4 children signed in on the attendance sheet. A caregiver responsible for a group of 5 children age 1 years old did not sign 1 child out on the attendance sheet. The child had transitioned to another classroom for the day. A caregiver responsible for a group of 4 children between the ages of 4y and 7y did not have 4 children signed in on the attendance sheet. Note: All caregivers signed the children in on the attendance sheets during the inspection.
A cargiver responsible for 4 children between the ages of 4y and 7y did not state the correct number of children currently present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 5 children currently present when asked.
During this investigation, it was determined a caregiver did not maintain supervision when a two-year-old child was left outside on the operation's playground. The child was found by another caregiver which brought the child to their classroom and to inform the teachers the child was left alone on the playground.
During this investigation, it was determined the operation failed to report a situation that placed a child at risk. A two-year old child was left unsupervised on the operation's playground.
The emergency preparedness plan does not have how staff will continue to care for the children during an emergency. During the follow-up inspection conducted, corrections had not been made.
A caregiver in the infant room did not sanitize the diaper changing table after changing a child's diaper.
A child's record was missing the emergency contact information from their admission form.
The emergency preparedness plan does not have how staff will continue to care for the children during an emergency.
Two of four staff files reviewed were missing an affidavit from their files.
A caregiver in the infant room did not wash a child's hands after changing the child's diaper.
Two infants who are not ready for table food does not have updated infant feeding instruction sheets.
The operation failed to provided documentation of the 2021 emergency practices form by compliance date of 5/27/2022.
Three of four staff files reviewed are missing completion of orientation training.
Based on the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that the operation did not complete an incident report regarding them preventing a child from leaving out a gate on their outside playground without permission or supervision from a caregiver.
Based on the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to suggest the operation did not report the incident of a child exiting an outdoor playground gate that placed the child at risk of serious harm and danger, no later than two days after incident occurring.
Based on the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to suggest the operation did not put specific measures in place for a child that the operation was aware needed more supervision than usual, to prevent a child from being at risk of harm or danger.
Four of the children in care was transported without parent s names, parent's telephone numbers, emergency telephone numbers for them in the transportation binder.
A caregiver was allowed to transport children without having the required CPR training.
The operation allowed a caregiver to transport children in care before submitting and receiving an eligible background check.
Based on the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to suggest a child was not securely restrained in a safety belt while being transported by the operation.
Eight of the children in care was transported without emergency medical transport and treatment authorization forms being in the transportation binder.
A caregiver was allowed to transport children without having the required First Aid training.
The operation allowed a driver to transport children prior to him completing the required two hours of transportation training.
All of the operations fire drills for 2021 is more than 3 minutes.
The operation did no have for review the annual CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) certification. Note: This was corrected when the director printed and posted the certification.
The operation did not have for review a current fire inspection.
Operation did not have posted a current employee list. Note: This was corrected when the director printed and posted a copy of the current employee list.
The operation have not conducted any Sheltering drills for severe weather for the year.
Inside the schoolers classroom there is 1 missing ceiling tile, 1 torn ceiling tile with partial water damage.
The operation did not have in the transportation binder emergency medical transport and treatment authorization forms and the parent's names for each child being transported.
The operation did not have the most recent licensing inspection posted. Note: This was corrected when the director printed and posted a copy of the most recent licensing inspection.
About this center
Common questions
Does Vanguard Academy Katy take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are Vanguard Academy Katy’s hours?
6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does Vanguard Academy Katy accept child care subsidies?
Yes, according to its state licensing record.
How much does Vanguard Academy Katy cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Vanguard Academy Katy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Katy, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has Vanguard Academy Katy had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 19 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Oct 22, 2024: “Written Operational Policies - Emergency Preparedness Plans.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does Vanguard Academy Katy compare with other daycares in Katy?
It is tied for #161 of 167 centers in Katy by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 2% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was Vanguard Academy Katy last inspected?
Jun 8, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
22129 Kingsland Blvd, Katy · 0.2 mi away · 133 spotsMore citations than mostFirst Steps Learning Center
138 Applewhite Dr, Katy · 0.6 mi away · 60 spotsAmong the most citedGuidepost Montessori at Katy
21418 Kingsland Blvd, Katy · 0.7 mi away · 241 spotsFewer citations than mostWest Memorial Elementary YMCA ASP
22605 Provincial Blvd, Katy · 0.7 mi away · 40 spotsMore citations than mostYMCA Afterschool @ Memorial Pkwy Elementary
21603 Park Tree Ln, Katy · 0.7 mi away · 30 spotsFewer citations than mostCrossRoad Christian School
700 Westgreen Blvd, Katy · 1.1 mi away · 278 spotsAbout typical
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 1714383 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.