Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Walkers Day Care

8432 Livingston St, Houston, TX 77051 · Harris County
Accepts child care subsidies

Walkers Day Care is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 52 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 14 times and investigated 3 reports. Inspectors recorded 36 citations, 9 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (11 of 36). 1 citation came in the last 12 months. 3% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 3% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 3%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
Tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston
9High risk
14Medium High risk
10Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
0Low risk
36 citations from 14 inspections and 3 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 1 in the last 12 months · last inspected Oct 28, 2025

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Oct 28, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundAug 19, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJul 15, 2025 · Report/investigation · citation foundJun 3, 2025 · Inspection · no citationMay 14, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJan 17, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundDec 4, 2024 · Inspection · no citationNov 20, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundApr 4, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMar 13, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundJul 31, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundJul 21, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundNov 30, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundOct 6, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundApr 28, 2022 · Inspection · no citationApr 22, 2022 · Report/investigation · no citationMar 8, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundDec 16, 2021 · Inspection · no citationDec 7, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Building & playground safety11
Records & paperwork8
Other standards4
Health & medication3
Training & qualifications3
Supervision2
Sleep safety2
Child protection1
Caregiver conduct1
Staff ratios1

Citations, newest first

Medium HighOct 28, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Inspect Daily §746.4751(a)
There were two active ant beds on the playground.
Correction verified Oct 28, 2025
HighJul 15, 2025Found during an investigationRecords & paperwork
Report Situation Placing Children at Risk §746.305(a)(6)
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that CCR was not notified within the required two-day time frame, when a nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended, and ride a city bus to their grandmother's home.
Correction verified Aug 19, 2025
HighJul 15, 2025Found during an investigationOther standards
Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk §746.307(b)(4)
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that parents were not notified immediately when their nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended.
Correction verified Aug 19, 2025
HighJul 15, 2025Found during an investigationSupervision
Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity §746.1205(a)(4)
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that supervision was not maintained when a nine-year-old child was able to leave the operation unattended, and ride a city bus to their grandmother's home.
Correction verified Aug 19, 2025
MediumMay 14, 2025InspectionOther standards
Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two §746.2207(a)
There were two children ages 14 and 18 months playing on iPads.
Correction verified Jun 3, 2025
Medium HighMay 14, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less §746.4907(a)(1)
The loose fill was approximately two inches deep.
Correction verified Jun 3, 2025
Medium LowJan 17, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 27, 2025
Medium HighNov 20, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
Three large and active ant beds were observed on the playground.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
Medium LowNov 20, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2985) §746.901(4)
Four of Five employees did not have signed affidavit.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
MediumNov 20, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Children's Records - Immunizations §746.603(a)(4)
Two of five children's immunization records were not up to date.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
HighNov 20, 2024InspectionSleep safety
Safety Requirements for Cribs - Infant Not in Crib with Drop Gate Down §746.2409(c)
An infant was standing in the upper crib with the drop gate in the down position.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
Medium HighNov 20, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
Two of Five Children's Records did not have addresses for emergency contacts.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
MediumNov 20, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Children's Records - Health Statement §746.603(a)(3)
Three of Five Children's records did not have physician's health care statements.
Correction verified Dec 9, 2024
MediumNov 20, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Provide Parents With Copy of Policies §746.503
Three of Five Children's records did not have evidence of parent signed operational policies.
Correction verified Dec 4, 2024
Medium HighMar 13, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface §746.3503(a)
I observed a changing pad with open cracks in the pre-k room and a changing pad with straps in the infant room.
Corrected during the visit
MediumMar 13, 2024InspectionOther standards
Written Activity Plan - Group Name and Dates §746.2205(a)(1)
Written daily plans posted did not have information identifying dates used or classroom used in.
Correction verified Apr 4, 2024
Medium HighMar 13, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
The light bulb in the school aged room was out, there was a patch of peeling wall in the pre-k room, there were broken toys cluttered in a corner of the playground.
Correction verified Apr 4, 2024
MediumMar 13, 2024InspectionOther standards
Screen Time Activities - Related to Planned Activities §746.2207(c)(1)
Children were observed using tablets in the pre-k room and cell phones in the school aged room that did not pertain to the activity plan or homework. Both of these were corrected when the caregivers removed the electronic devices from the children.
Correction verified Apr 4, 2024
Medium HighMar 13, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing §746.4901(a)
Two slides did not have loose fill under them. Three platforms did not have loose fill under them.
Correction verified Apr 4, 2024
MediumJul 31, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required §746.1309(a)
Three out of three caregivers were missing training in the following required topics; Emergency preparedness; Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases; Administering medication; Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic; Understanding building and physical premises safety; Handling storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
Correction verified Aug 21, 2023
MediumJul 21, 2023InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required §746.1311(a)
The directors present at the operation was missing training in the following topics; Emergency preparedness,Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases, including immunizations,Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reacton,Understanding building and physical premises safety and Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
Correction verified Aug 21, 2023
Medium HighNov 30, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
There was a few broken fence boards and 3 active ant piles on the playground. The director treated the ant piles during inspection.
Correction verified Dec 20, 2022
Medium HighNov 30, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Floors, ceilings and Walls in Good Repair and Clean §746.3407(9)
There were several broken/cracked or missing tiles in the infant room.
Correction verified Dec 28, 2022
HighOct 6, 2022Found during an investigationChild protection
AP Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Ensure No Child Abused, Neglected, or Exploited §746.1201(4)
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that physical abuse occurred in the operation.
Correction verified Nov 30, 2022
HighOct 6, 2022Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Prohibited Punishments - Associated with Food, Naps, or Toilet Training §746.2805(2)
Based on the DFPS investigation, there is sufficient evidence to suggest that a child was inappropriately disciplined when they would not lay down on their nap cot.
Correction verified Nov 30, 2022
Medium LowMar 8, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Correction verified Mar 11, 2022
HighDec 7, 2021InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For §746.1203(2)
A caregiver responsible for the 3y to 6y old group did not know the correct number of children present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 11 children present. There were 12 children present during the inspection after counting.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
MediumDec 7, 2021InspectionTraining & qualifications
Furnishings and Equipment for Toddlers - Never Allow Toddlers to Sleep or Walk With Bottles and Training Cups §746.2505(4)(C)
Four children ranged from 18m to 2 years old were observed during nap time. One child was observed sleeping with a bottle and three were observed sleeping with training/sippy cups.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
HighDec 7, 2021InspectionSleep safety
AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age §746.2415(b)
In the infant room, inspector observed an 8 month old, laying in a crib with a pacifier and pacifier attachment.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
Medium HighDec 7, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures §746.5202(1)
The operation is missing how children will be evacuated or relocated to the designated safe area or alternate shelter, including specific procedures for evacuating and relocating children who are under 24 months of age, who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing impairments from their emergency preparedness plan.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
Medium HighDec 7, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Sheltering Drills for Lock-Down-4 times in a calendar year §746.5205(3)
The operation has not practiced a lock down drill. There is no documentation on file at the operation for review.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
MediumDec 7, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Monthly Maintenance Checklist §746.4751(b)
The operation does not have a building and grounds checklist on file at the operation for review.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2021
HighDec 7, 2021InspectionStaff ratios
Written Operational Policies - Safe Sleep for Infants 12 Months and Younger §746.501(a)(9)
The operational policy handbook is missing the safe sleep policy for infants from birth through 12 months old.
Correction verified Dec 8, 2021
Medium HighDec 7, 2021InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year §746.5205(2)
The operation has not practiced a severe weather drill. There is no documentation on file at the operation for review.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
Medium HighDec 7, 2021InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Special Needs Statement §746.605(13)
A childs record evaluated was missing the special needs acknowledgment on their admission form.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021
Medium HighDec 7, 2021InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact §746.605(6)
A childs record evaluated was missing the name, address, and phone number for their emergency contact person on their admission form. Another childs record evaluated was missing the address for their emergency contact person on their admission form.
Correction verified Dec 16, 2021

About this center

Licensed capacity52 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceOct 15, 1986
DirectorJames C Walker Jr
Phone7137343583
State operation #156491

Common questions

Does Walkers Day Care take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Walkers Day Care’s hours?

6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Walkers Day Care accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Walkers Day Care cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Walkers Day Care for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Walkers Day Care had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 9 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 15, 2025: “Report Situation Placing Children at Risk.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Walkers Day Care compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #765 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 3% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Walkers Day Care last inspected?

Oct 28, 2025. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 156491 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.