Bright Stars Academy
Bright Stars Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 78 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2006. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 10 times and investigated 2 reports. Inspectors recorded 10 citations, 2 of them high-risk, most often for training & qualifications (4 of 10). 4 citations came in the last 12 months, including 1 high-risk. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 37% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.
A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.
A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.
The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.
About this center
Common questions
Does Bright Stars Academy take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are Bright Stars Academy’s hours?
6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does Bright Stars Academy accept child care subsidies?
Yes, according to its state licensing record.
How much does Bright Stars Academy cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Bright Stars Academy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has Bright Stars Academy had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 2 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 17, 2026: “Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does Bright Stars Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?
It is tied for #328 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 37% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was Bright Stars Academy last inspected?
Aug 14, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
9602 Fulton St, Houston · 0.6 mi away · 85 spotsAbout typicalKCE Champions LLC @ KIPP Dream
500 Tidwell Rd, Houston · 1.2 mi away · 204 spotsAbout typicalKingdom Kidz Youth Academy
9013 McGallion Rd, Houston · 1.3 mi away · 136 spotsAmong the most citedReaching High Learning Center
4302 Delhi St, Houston · 1.3 mi away · 44 spotsAmong the most citedBezos Academy-Northside
8855 McGallion Rd, Houston · 1.3 mi away · 68 spotsToo few inspections to compareLittle People's Learning Tree
457 Pickering St, Houston · 1.3 mi away · 62 spotsMore citations than most
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 854203 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.