Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

Little People's Learning Tree

457 Pickering St, Houston, TX 77091 · Harris County
Conditions on permit2 high-risk citations in last 12 monthsAccepts child care subsidies

Little People's Learning Tree is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 62 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 2008. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 17 times and investigated 9 reports. Inspectors recorded 24 citations, 6 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (7 of 24). 5 citations came in the last 12 months, including 2 high-risk. 25% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #471 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 21% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 21%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. More citations than most
Tied for #471 of 882 centers in Houston
6High risk
9Medium High risk
5Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
1Low risk
24 citations from 17 inspections and 9 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 5 in the last 12 months · last inspected Sep 29, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)Sep 29, 2026 · Inspection · no citationAug 11, 2026 · Report/investigation · no citationJul 15, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundApr 10, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundApr 8, 2026 · Report/investigation · citation foundOct 15, 2025 · Inspection · no citationAug 8, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJul 21, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJun 28, 2025 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 13, 2025 · Inspection · no citationDec 5, 2024 · Inspection · no citationDec 2, 2024 · Report/investigation · citation foundJul 31, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundJul 24, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJan 23, 2024 · Assessment · citation foundNov 29, 2023 · Inspection · no citationNov 27, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationAug 1, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundJul 21, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationJul 7, 2023 · Inspection · no citationJun 23, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundJun 20, 2023 · Report/investigation · no citationDec 29, 2022 · Inspection · no citationDec 16, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundDec 8, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundAug 2, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundFeb 25, 2022 · Assessment · citation foundNov 10, 2021 · Inspection · citation found
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Building & playground safety7
Staff ratios5
Records & paperwork5
Supervision2
Training & qualifications1
Caregiver conduct1
Other standards1
Health & medication1
Food & feeding1

Citations, newest first

LowJul 15, 2026InspectionStaff ratios
Documentation pediatric CPR-1st aid includes renewal date and expiration date §746.1329(c)(1)(B)
The infant caregiver did not have an official copy of the CPR and First Aid certificate showing the expiration date.
Correction verified Aug 19, 2026
HighJul 15, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Release Information §746.605(7)
A child's file was reviewed and found to be missing information about who else is allowed to pick up the child.
Correction verified Jul 29, 2026
MediumJul 15, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
Director Annual Training - Additional required topics §746.1311(e)
CCR reviewed the director's training and found the following required trainings were missing: Emergency preparedness. Controlling the spread of communicable diseases. Administering medication. Food allergies. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.
Correction verified Aug 21, 2026
HighApr 10, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months §746.5101(a)
The operation does not have an updated fire inspection; the last fire inspection was on 01/31/2025.
Correction verified Apr 28, 2026
MediumApr 8, 2026Found during an investigationRecords & paperwork
Required Admission Information - Special School-age Permissions §746.605(14)
CCR reviewed a child’s file and found that the section indicating which school the child attends was left blank.
Correction verified May 11, 2026
Medium HighJul 21, 2025InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less §746.4907(a)(1)
The loose fill on the playgrounds is less than six inches.
Correction verified Sep 15, 2025
HighDec 2, 2024Found during an investigationCaregiver conduct
Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling §746.2805(3)
The caregiver was seen grabbing and pulling a child by the arm.
Correction verified Jan 13, 2025
HighDec 2, 2024Found during an investigationRecords & paperwork
Report Situation Placing Children at Risk §746.305(a)(6)
The operation reported the incident more than two days after the incident.
Correction verified Jan 13, 2025
Medium HighJul 31, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Documentation of Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3403
During the inspection the operation was not able to provide documentation of the health inspection conducted.
Correction verified Jul 31, 2024
Medium LowJan 23, 2024InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Correction verified Jan 29, 2024
HighAug 1, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months §746.5101(a)
The operation was found to not have a current fire inspection.
Correction verified Aug 9, 2023
MediumJun 23, 2023InspectionStaff ratios
Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met §746.1613(a)
During the inspection I oberved one caregiver caring for 7 infants engaged in naptime with a SAG of 0-11 months. Ratio is 1:4. The caregiver was over ratio by 3. This was corrected when the diirector sent in another teacher in the classroom.
Correction verified Jul 7, 2023
HighJun 23, 2023InspectionSupervision
Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised §746.2401(7)
During the walkthrough I observed a classroom with 7 infants ages 6m, 7m, 8m 11m,12m,14m and 17 months left unsupervised. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom.
Correction verified Jul 7, 2023
Medium HighDec 16, 2022InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Children's Names and Ages §746.1203(3)
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care and did not have a list of names and ages posted. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver wrote and posted the children's ages on their name cards.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighDec 16, 2022InspectionStaff ratios
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children §746.1601
There was one caregiver with 19 two and three year olds during lunch time. The specified age group of the children was 3 years old. This was corrected at inspection when the director joined the room.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighDec 16, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered §746.3701(1)
Two outlets were uncovered in the nap room. This was corrected at inspection when they covered the outlets.
Corrected during the visit
MediumDec 16, 2022InspectionOther standards
Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age §746.4503(a)
Three nap mats were torn. One child was sleeping on a work-out mat. This was corrected at inspection when the maps were replaced.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighDec 16, 2022InspectionStaff ratios
Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age §746.1605
A child in the infant room was 21 months older than the youngest child.
Correction verified Dec 29, 2022
Medium HighDec 8, 2022Found during an investigationBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
A small nail was sticking out of the wall in the 2 year old room. There was a hole in the floor in the nap room.
Correction verified Dec 29, 2022
Medium HighDec 8, 2022Found during an investigationHealth & medication
Diapering Procedures - Use Disposable Gloves §746.3505(c)
A caregiver did not wash hands after disposing of gloves during diapering procedures.
Correction verified Dec 29, 2022
Medium HighAug 2, 2022InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Mounting of Fire Extinguishers §746.5305
The fire extinguisher in the infant room was located on top of a counter and not mounted. NOTE: The deficiency was corrected at inspection.
Corrected during the visit
Medium LowFeb 25, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
Correction verified Feb 25, 2022
Medium LowNov 10, 2021InspectionStaff ratios
Operational Policies - Inform Parents That They May Visit Center Anytime During Operating Hours §746.501(b)(1)
The operational policies did not inform the parents they are able to visit the center without prior approval.
Corrected during the visit
MediumNov 10, 2021InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
During review of infants the operation did not have curret feeding instructions for an infant not yet eating table food.
Correction verified Nov 11, 2021

About this center

Licensed capacity62 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:00 AM-06:00 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceAug 28, 2008
DirectorValarie Taylor
Phone7136940066
State operation #878474

Common questions

Does Little People's Learning Tree take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are Little People's Learning Tree’s hours?

6 AM to 6 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does Little People's Learning Tree accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does Little People's Learning Tree cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask Little People's Learning Tree for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has Little People's Learning Tree had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 6 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on Jul 15, 2026: “Required Admission Information - Release Information.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does Little People's Learning Tree compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #471 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 21% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was Little People's Learning Tree last inspected?

Sep 29, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 878474 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.