Daycare RecordChild care inspection records

La Petite Academy

1810 W 18th St, Houston, TX 77008 · Harris County
Conditions on permitAccepts child care subsidies

La Petite Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, TX, licensed for up to 102 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 16 times and investigated 4 reports. Inspectors recorded 31 citations, 3 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (9 of 31). 6 citations came in the last 12 months. 6% were corrected during the inspection itself. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #598 of 882 centers in Houston and better than 11% of licensed centers statewide.

Inspection record

Better than 11%of 9,147 Texas licensed centers, comparing risk-weighted citations per inspection. Among the most cited
Tied for #598 of 882 centers in Houston
3High risk
14Medium High risk
10Medium risk
3Medium Low risk
1Low risk
31 citations from 16 inspections and 3 reports since Oct 1, 2021 · 6 in the last 12 months · last inspected May 26, 2026

Every state visit

20222023202420252026INSPECTIONS (top) · REPORTS & INVESTIGATIONS (bottom)May 26, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundFeb 5, 2026 · Inspection · no citationJan 23, 2026 · Inspection · citation foundJan 22, 2026 · Assessment · citation foundMay 30, 2025 · Inspection · citation foundJan 21, 2025 · Assessment · citation foundJan 15, 2025 · Inspection · no citationJan 3, 2025 · Report/investigation · citation foundNov 18, 2024 · Inspection · no citationNov 7, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJun 11, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundMay 31, 2024 · Inspection · citation foundApr 2, 2024 · Inspection · no citationMar 19, 2024 · Report/investigation · no citationJun 8, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundMar 29, 2023 · Inspection · citation foundOct 25, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundOct 3, 2022 · Inspection · no citationSep 29, 2022 · Report/investigation · citation foundAug 11, 2022 · Inspection · no citationJun 29, 2022 · Inspection · citation foundNov 16, 2021 · Inspection · no citation
Citation foundNo citation

What inspectors cited most

Building & playground safety9
Records & paperwork5
Staff ratios4
Food & feeding4
Training & qualifications3
Health & medication2
Sleep safety2
Supervision2

Citations, newest first

Medium HighMay 26, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less §746.4907(a)(1)
The operation has three playground equipment that does not meet the required six inches of loose fill.
Correction verified Jun 25, 2026
Medium HighMay 26, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes §746.5205(1)
CCR reviewed the operation's fire drill practices and found that the fire drills were not completed within three minutes for the months of March, April, and May.
Correction verified Jun 9, 2026
MediumMay 26, 2026InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Sanitation Inspection Report §746.801(12)
The operation's current health inspection report was not available during the inspection.
Correction verified Jun 8, 2026
Medium HighJan 23, 2026InspectionTraining & qualifications
Report Change in Director §746.303(a)(4)
The operation failed to report to licesning a change in director.
Correction verified Feb 5, 2026
Medium HighJan 23, 2026InspectionStaff ratios
Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children §746.1601
During the inspection I observed one caregiver caring for 17 children with a specified age group of 2 years. Raito is 1:11, the caregiver was over ratio by 6.
Correction verified Feb 5, 2026
Medium LowJan 22, 2026InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Correction verified Jan 23, 2026
LowMay 30, 2025InspectionStaff ratios
Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program §746.611(a)(1)
During the inspection it was found 4 out of 7 child records did not have a health statement on file.
Correction verified Jun 9, 2025
Medium LowJan 21, 2025InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Number of Employees §746.303(b)
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Correction verified Jan 23, 2024
MediumJan 3, 2025Found during an investigationFood & feeding
Parent Provided Meals/Snacks - Parent Choice §746.3309(a)(1)
The operation does not have a written agreement in regard to the parent providing snacks for their child while in care.
Correction verified Mar 20, 2025
Medium HighJan 3, 2025Found during an investigationFood & feeding
Nutrition and Food Service - Child must not go more than 3 hours §746.3301(d)
A child went over more than 3 hours without eating while in care at the operation.
Correction verified Mar 20, 2025
MediumJun 11, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Required Personnel Records- Training Hours §746.901(5)
I was able to see four out of the five caregiver training. One caregiver is still missing the training documentation.
Correction verified Jun 14, 2024
MediumMay 31, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Children's Records - Immunizations §746.603(a)(4)
One child is missing immunization recrods.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2024
Medium HighMay 31, 2024InspectionHealth & medication
Employee Handwashing After Handling or Cleaning Bodily Fluids §746.3415(7)
A caregiver did not wash their hands after cleaning a child's nose.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2024
Medium HighMay 31, 2024InspectionStaff ratios
Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age §746.1605(1)
In the toddler classroom they was a child that was 17 months old the oldest child in the class was 3 years old, which is more then 18 months older then the youngest child.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2024
HighMay 31, 2024InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months §746.5101(a)
The operation did not have an updated fire inspection report.
Correction verified Jul 3, 2024
MediumMay 31, 2024InspectionFood & feeding
Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days §746.2421(b)
Six infants did not have an updated feeding instruction form.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2024
MediumMay 31, 2024InspectionStaff ratios
Written Operational Policies Procedures for Parent Review Licensing Reports & How to Access Rules §746.501(a)(22)
In the operational policies the operation did not have how parents could find the most recent inspection report or how the parent could contact the local licensing office.
Correction verified Jul 17, 2024
MediumMay 31, 2024InspectionTraining & qualifications
Required Personnel Records- Training Hours §746.901(5)
They was not documentation for training hours for the director or five caregivers.
Correction verified Jun 11, 2024
Medium HighJun 8, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment §746.3407
In the pre-K classroom they was paint coming off the wall and in the pre-school classroom board coming off the wall.
Correction verified Jun 26, 2023
MediumMar 29, 2023InspectionSleep safety
Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name §746.4503(b)
The cots in the toddler classroom were not labeled.
Correction verified Apr 6, 2023
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures §746.5202(1)
The emergency preparedness plan is missing how children 24 months and with limited mobility, will be evacuated out of the operation.
Correction verified Apr 12, 2023
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps §746.2407
Two infants were observed without safety straps in highchairs. Corrected: When the caregiver fastened the safety straps.
Corrected during the visit
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes §746.5205(1)
The operation did not conduct a fire drill the month of February.
Correction verified Apr 6, 2023
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionRecords & paperwork
Report Unsafe Facility Occurrence §746.305(a)(1)
The operation did not report to licensing that a part of their building unsafe and unsanitary for children.
Correction verified Mar 29, 2023
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionFood & feeding
Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional §746.3819
One of the children were observed to have allergies and did not have a food allergy plan.
Correction verified Apr 11, 2023
Medium HighMar 29, 2023InspectionBuilding & playground safety
Annual Sanitation Inspection §746.3401(a)
It was observed the operation did not have the most updated sanitation inspection. The last inspection was 2/22/2022.
Correction verified Apr 27, 2023
HighOct 25, 2022InspectionSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For §746.1203(2)
The caregiver stated they had 15 children, when I counted it was 16 children in care. Corrected: When the caregiver ensure all children were checked in and recounted the children.
Corrected during the visit
HighSep 29, 2022Found during an investigationSupervision
Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children §746.1203(4)
The child was left alone in a classroom unsupervised by a caregiver.
Correction verified Oct 25, 2022
Medium LowJun 29, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit §746.901(4)
An caregiver was missing a affidavit in their file.
Correction verified Jun 30, 2022
MediumJun 29, 2022InspectionRecords & paperwork
Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Employees' Attendance §746.801(5)
The director did not have a time sheet or documentation on when she is in the operation.
Correction verified Jun 30, 2022
MediumJun 29, 2022InspectionSleep safety
Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name §746.4503(b)
In the two year old classroom all cots were not labeled with children's names or numbers
Correction verified Jun 30, 2022

About this center

Licensed capacity102 children
Ages servedInfant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours06:30 AM-06:30 PM
DaysMon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Licensed sinceOct 13, 1986
DirectorCrystal Estes
Phone7138628092
State operation #133307- 684

Common questions

Does La Petite Academy take infants?

Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.

What are La Petite Academy’s hours?

6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.

Does La Petite Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes, according to its state licensing record.

How much does La Petite Academy cost?

Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask La Petite Academy for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Gulf Coast area, which includes Houston, is $42.60 a day for infants, $40.80 a day for toddlers and $39.40 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).

Has La Petite Academy had any serious violations?

Inspectors recorded 3 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on May 31, 2024: “Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months.” Each one is listed in full above.

How does La Petite Academy compare with other daycares in Houston?

It is tied for #598 of 882 centers in Houston by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 11% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).

When was La Petite Academy last inspected?

May 26, 2026. Inspectors cited at least one rule during that visit.

Licensed centers nearby

Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.

To see the official record, search operation 133307- 684 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.