YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center
YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, TX, licensed for up to 129 children and serving infants through school-age children. It has held its Texas license since 1986. Since October 2021, state inspectors have visited 25 times and investigated 10 reports. Inspectors recorded 20 citations, 5 of them high-risk, most often for building & playground safety (5 of 20). 5 citations came in the last 12 months, including 2 high-risk. 5% were corrected during the inspection itself. Its last 2 inspections found no violations. Measured by risk-weighted citations per inspection, it is tied for #235 of 476 centers in San Antonio and better than 43% of licensed centers statewide.
Inspection record
Every state visit
What inspectors cited most
Citations, newest first
A current sanitation inspection was not available for review.
During an investigation, it was determined a child was left unsupervised in a restroom.
During an investigation, it was determined the operation did not notify Child Care Regulation of a classroom being set up in the gym of the operation.
The annual certification of the children's products recall form was expired. It was last signed and certified on 11/12/24. Note: This was CORRECTED AT INSPECTION when the director signed and posted a new form.
It was determined that prohibited punishment was utilized when a caregiver was observed grabbing and pulling three children.
Based on information gathered, caregiver did not interact with child in a positive manner, when caregiver began to roughly pick up child by one arm, then continued to pick up child under other arm.
2 of 10 child's records are missing the health statement. 1 of 10 child's records is missing an updated immunization record.
3 of the 10 children records are missing emergency contact information. 2 of the 10 children records were missing an admission date. 7 of the 10 childrens records were missing a special care statement.
Based on the interview conducted the operation failed to notify the parent immediately after a situation that placed a child at risk when a tablet was found in a child's hand.
No documentation for shelter/weather and lockdown available at the time of inspection. No documentation for May's fire drills.
Two of the staff who transport didn't have required transportation training available at inspection.
Two of the infant children did not have an undated feeding schedule at the time of the inspection.
The last health inspection posted was conducted on 3.22.23.
A written policy on a plan to handle a transportation emergency was unavailable at the time of inspection.
Four of the ten children files didn't have an updated immunization records at the time of inspection.
The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for evacuating infants under 24 months of age, who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the staff will continue to care for the children until each child has been released. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the children will be ununified with their parents when evacuating.
The operation did not report the number of employees who ceased employment in 2023 by the required date.
Two of six child files did not have an up to date immunization record.
During an investigation, it has been determined that caregivers did not portray good judgement while allowing a nine-year-old child to be present in the infant classrooms with the infant children.
During an investigation, it has been determined that there was an incident of harsh treatment conducted toward a child while in care.
About this center
Common questions
Does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center take infants?
Yes. Texas licenses it to care for infants through school-age children.
What are YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center’s hours?
7 AM to 5:30 PM, Monday through Friday, according to its state licensing record. Confirm holiday and summer hours with the center.
Does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center accept child care subsidies?
Yes, according to its state licensing record.
How much does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center cost?
Texas does not publish individual centers’ prices, so ask YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center for its current tuition. For comparison, the median full-day price at licensed centers in the Alamo area, which includes San Antonio, is $42.00 a day for infants, $40.40 a day for toddlers and $39.20 a day for 3-year-olds (2025 Texas Child Care Market Rate Survey).
Has YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center had any serious violations?
Inspectors recorded 5 high-risk citations since 2021. The most recent was on May 14, 2026: “Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity.” Each one is listed in full above.
How does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center compare with other daycares in San Antonio?
It is tied for #235 of 476 centers in San Antonio by risk-weighted citations per inspection, and is better than 43% of licensed centers statewide (out of 9,147 Texas centers with enough inspection history).
When was YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center last inspected?
Jun 16, 2026. No violations were found during that visit.
Licensed centers nearby
106 Las Palmas Dr, San Antonio · 0.1 mi away · 61 spotsMore citations than mostAvance-SA EHS @ Mirasol Center
611 Sw 28th St, San Antonio · 0.4 mi away · 97 spotsAbout typicalLittle Smiles Day Care
508 Cupples Rd # 5, San Antonio · 0.6 mi away · 57 spotsAmong the most citedLearning Time Day Care & Kindergarten L.L.C.
554 Cupples Rd, San Antonio · 0.6 mi away · 102 spotsAbout typicalGood Samaritan Center
1600 Saltillo St, San Antonio · 0.7 mi away · 95 spotsMore citations than mostBustos Youth Center
1613 Castroville Rd, San Antonio · 1.0 mi away · 40 spotsAbout typical
Citations are quoted from Texas HHS inspection records. Many are corrected the same day, and a citation is a finding about one rule, not a judgment about a center overall.
To see the official record, search operation 63207 on Search Texas Child Care. Data refreshed Sep 30, 2026.